Ka Mana O Ke Kanaka - Nā Pua no ka Wēkiu

Hawaiʻi Maoli’s 7th Annual Ka Mana O Ke Kanaka Awards will be presented on Saturday, March 4, 2017 at Makapuʻu Meadows. The late Senator Gilbert Kahele is among the honorees of the Native Hawaiian community’s leaders. New TNC Hawaiʻi Director Ulalia Woodside, and cultural practitioners Mapuana and Kīhei de Silva round out this year’s distinguished group of honorees who exemplify excellence.

Hawaiʻi Maoli believes that the mana, or power, of the Hawaiian culture derives from an ongoing commitment by community leaders to perpetuate our traditions and practices. Each of this year’s honorees has demonstrated remarkable commitment to the Hawaiian people and the Hawaiian culture. We are grateful for the opportunity to recognize their achievements. It is a particularly appropriate to recognize Mapuana and Kīhei de Silva in 2016 as it is the 40th anniversary of Hālau Mōhala ʻIlima, the hālau founded by Honoree Mapuana de Silva. Kumu de Silva’s hālau just participated in their 38th Merrie Monarch Festival. Kihei de Silva, an academic, practitioner and scholar has written numerous mele for the hālau and other musicians. He is a multiple Nā Hōkū Hanohano Award winning songwriter and composer.

New TNC Hawai‘i Director Ulalia Woodside is among the younger recipients in the award’s history. Formerly with DLNR and Kamehameha Schools, she now also sits as a member of the Board of Land and Natural Resources. Woodside is also a Kumu Hula. It was important to Hawai‘i Maoli to highlight the best and brightest among young Hawaiian leaders. Ulalia perfectly exemplifies what every Hawaiian today should be striving to be.

For more information about sponsoring a table at the Annual Ka Mana o Ke Kanaka Awards call (808) 394-0050

Senator Gilbert Kahele

Kīhei and Mapuana de Silva
Hālau Mōhala ʻIlima

Ulalia Woodside
The Nature Conservancy Hawaiʻi

Purchase Tables and Tickets

Buy Now